Viennese Reflections

October 9, 2016
4 pm; Pre-Concert Talk, 3 pm
Richardson Auditorium

Leila Josefowicz returns to the PSO with a performance of Alban Berg’s Violin Concerto, an elegiac memorial to a beloved young actress and friend, rooted in music by J.S. Bach. PSO Trustee Julian Grant‘s new composition, written for the PSO, acts as a companion built upon the same musical foundation.

The Edward T. Cone Concert

JULIAN GRANT, guest composer


Julian GRANT/ Is it enough? Perhaps it is…*
after J.R. AHLE and J.S. BACH
BERG/ Violin Concerto “To the Memory of an Angel”
SCHUBERT/ Symphony No. 9 in C Major, D. 944 “Great”

*World premiere commissioned by the PSO

This concert is made possible through the generous support of the Edward T. Cone Foundation.

Ticket Button




About Leila Josefowicz

“As ever, the soloist astonished” – The New York Times

Grammy-nominated violinist Leila Josefowicz last collaborated with the PSO in October 2010 when she performed Beautiful Passing by Steve Mackey.


Prelude Event

October 5 Wednesday – Soundtracks: Why the Saxophone?