Elgar & Brahms

Featuring Pablo Ferrández
Richardson Auditorium, Princeton University Campus
This event has passed

International Classical Music Awards (ICMA) 2016 Young Artist of the Year, Spanish cellist Pablo Ferrández brings emotional intensity to Elgar's cello concerto.

“Pablo Ferrández is truly special. Great sound, very refined vibrato, flawless left and right hand and a true musician.”
– Anne-Sophie Mutter



SIBELIUS / The Swan of Tuonela
ELGAR / Cello Concerto in E Minor
BRAHMS / Symphony No. 3


Key Notes Musical notes


  • Sibelius’ tone poem The Swan of Tuonela prominently features the English horn as the voice of the swan.
  • Spanish cellist Pablo Ferrández is rapidly gaining acclaim as a young soloist of the highest caliber. These performances with the PSO are among his first in the U.S.
  • Brahms completed four symphonies. Symphony No. 3 is the shortest in length, but packs stunning power and emotional depth.


Rossen Milanov, conductor
Pablo Ferrández, cello


This summer, Pablo Ferrández performed at the Hollywood Bowl with Gustavo Dudamel and the Los Angeles Philharmonic before playing with the Hong Kong Sinfonietta in China and Kaohsiung Symphony Orchestra in Taiwan.


Los Angeles Times Review


In addition to being named ICMA 2016 "Young Artist of the Year," he was a prize-winner at the XV Tchaikovsky Competition and V Paulo International Cello Competition. Recent highlights include performing alongside Anne-Sophie Mutter in Madrid and Oxford, his debut with the Bamberg Symphony under Christoph Eschenbach, and appearances with London Philharmonic, Israel Philharmonic, Vienna Symphony, Konzerthaus Berlin, St. Petersburg Philharmonic, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic, BBC Philharmonic, Spanish National Symphony, and Barcelona Symphony, among others.



More Concerts

Featuring Simone Porter
Featuring Shai Wosner
Stay Up to Date: Sign up for email updates from the PSO Sign Up